Trickstar Business Award

‘Trickstar Business’ is the name of the animation industry’s new business prize which will be awarded for the first time during Animation Production Day 2017 by the Stuttgart Festival of Animated Film (ITFS).

The Trickstar Business Award is worth €7,500 and recognises national or international innovative and groundbreaking business models for projects or companies in the animation industry. This makes Trickstar Business the world’s first animation prize to be explicitly focused on business. The prize is being sponsored by the Stuttgart Region.

Who can apply?

All projects selected for APD 2017 which have an innovative business concept, for example, in the areas of financing, distribution, marketing or exploitation of rights, can put themselves forward for the Trickstar Business Award. To apply for Trickstar 2017, participants must fill in an additional part in the APD project submission form.

The project submission forms will be available for download from December 2016.

With regards to companies, the organisers reserve the right to specifically invite companies to put themselves forward for the Trickstar Business Award.

Who decides?

A five-person industry jury inlcuding representatives of the Stuttgart Region and the L-Bank will shortlist three finalists on the strengths of their project submission and application form. These finalists will have the opportunity to present their business model to the jury in the form of a short pitch during Animation Production Day.

Jury assessment criteria:

  • competitiveness of the project / service / product
  • quality and feasibility of the business plan
  • innovation of the financing / evaluation / marketing concept
  • qualifications and experience of the submitter

The Winner

The winner will be announced on the evening of 5th May during a prize-giving ceremony in the rotunda of L-Bank in Stuttgart. They will receive €7,500 in prize money.

Trickstar Business Award

Trickstar Business heißt der neue Business-Preis für die Animationsbranche, der erstmals im Rahmen des Animation Production Day 2017 durch das Internationale Trickfilm-Festival Stuttgart (ITFS) vergeben wird.

Der Trickstar Business Award ist mit 7500,- € dotiert und zeichnet nationale oder internationale innovative und wegweisende Geschäftsmodelle für Projekte oder Unternehmen der Animationsbranche aus. Damit ist der Trickstar Business der weltweit erste Animationspreis mit explizit wirtschaftlicher Ausrichtung. Gestiftet wird der Preis von der Region Stuttgart.

Wer kann sich bewerben?

An der Auswahl für den Trickstar Business können alle für den APD 2017 ausgewählten Projekte teilnehmen, die ein innovatives Businesskonzept, beispielsweise für die Bereiche Finanzierung, Vertrieb, Marketing oder Rechteverwertung haben. Um sich für den Trickstar 2017 zu bewerben, müssen Teilnehmer einen Zusatzteil im Formular für die APD Projekteinreichung ausfüllen.

Die Unterlagen für die Projekteinreichung stehen ab Dezember 2016 hier zum Download bereit.

Die Veranstalter behalten sich das Recht vor, darüber hinaus Unternehmen gezielt dazu einzuladen, sich mit ihrem Geschäftsmodell oder einem Projekt für die Auswahl zum Trickstar Business zu bewerben.

Wer entscheidet?

Eine 5-köpfige Fachjury inklusive eines Vertreters der L-Bank sowie der Region Stuttgart entscheidet auf der Basis der Einreichungen und Bewerbungen über die drei Finalisten. Diese haben die Gelegenheit, ihr Business-Modell im Rahmen des Animation Production Day in Form eines kurzen Pitches der Jury vorzustellen.

Bewertungskriterien der Jury sind:

  • Wettbewerbsfähigkeit des Projekts/ der Dienstleistung/ des Produktes
  • Qualität/ Machbarkeit des Businessplans
  • Innovatives Finanzierungs-, Auswertungs-, Vermarktungskonzept
  • Qualifikation und Erfahrung des Teilnehmers

Der Gewinner

Der Gewinner wird am Abend des 5. Mai im Rahmen einer Preisverleihung in der Rotunde der Stuttgarter L-Bank geehrt. Das Preisgeld beträgt 7500,-€.